New Colors for a New Year

Anyone who knows me will tell you that bright colors just aren’t my thing–not in my wardrobe nor in my decor. But the January-February issue of Elle Decor inspired me to get outside of my “monochromatic” comfort zone and add bright splashes of color to my life. Admittedly, I will have to start slow, but I have already found that even just a few accents of bright colors can add a fun element of surprise and can really take a room from simply beautiful to simply amazing. Don’t get me wrong….my grays and neutrals aren’t going away, but look at what can happen when you mix the two.

A touch of yellow. Eileen Kathryn Boyd, New York interior designer known for her bold use of color.

An easy way to add color to a room is to paint the inside wall of a built-in.

This is my favorite combination of colors, and I love how the Greek key pattern is repeated throughout the room. Those porcelain garden seats look amazing in any room.

Purple is the new color and I love the contrast trim on the Roman Shades, upholstered headboard and bedskirt. It's an easy addition that really makes a room look well-tailored and elegant.

Designer Amanda Nesbit epitomizes the use of bold colors and neutrals. I love the beautiful (but unlikely) coupling of different colors and styles---turquoise vs. linen and modern vs. traditional. The lucite side table immediately gives a modern feel to the beach house.

“Color is not merely an outlet of personal expression, but rather a state of mind which infiltrates all that we are and do.” -Eileen Kathryn Boyd

One response to “New Colors for a New Year

  1. Hi Honey,
    Oh my goodness- this is amazing and it looks sooo great. I love it – good for you to keep your interior design interest thriving.

    I still think that interior design and staging should be part of our new consignment home furnishings business- an ancillary service that you also provide to clients. xoxoxo JJ

Leave a Reply

If we can't have the dream home now, we can certainly still have a flair for living Interiorly...

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 113 other followers

